Tags

, , , , ,

Compost cookies

I had such high hopes for this cookie. I love salty-sweet combination. “Anyone you serve this cookie to will instantly become your best friend.” one blogger said.

Naturally, I got excited. I’m not ashamed to say it, I have made my friends by baking cupcakes. How many new friends could I make with this magical cookie recipe. But it was not to be.

This cookie is most certainly not going to make me any friends. I’m not sure I should even serve it to people. I mean, it’s alright. Just kinda… meh. Like a Subway cookie.  It’s a bit too sweet and it had too many mixed up flavours going on, plus it smelt a bit ashy from the coffee grounds. I love coffee but it’s like having a hint of burnt coffee in a cookie.

If you were wondering what a compost cookie is, it’s an American concept made famous by Christina Tosi of Momofuku Milk Bar fame. It’s essentially a buttery chocolate chip cookie with some pantry snacks thrown in. Chips. Or pretzels, or even both.

I should’ve guessed that the recipe wasn’t going to be great when I kept getting inconsistent quantities of ingredients on different sites. Along with the recipes came a bunch of mixed reviews. Some people loved these cookies and other people did not. As someone who has an opinion on everything, I just had to try them for myself.

I bought glucose syrup, pretzels and sea salt potato chips. The only thing I couldn’t get were butterscotch chips. I made graham crust, baked it and crumbled it just be used in a cookie again. I made cookie dough, rolled it into balls and chilled it then baked it.

Compost cookie

Yeah, it’s kinda like that someone you could date but you’re not interested cos they’re sweet, bland a wee bit confused.

With that write up, I’m sure you can’t wait to try it for yourselves! Tell me what you think – are you a lover or a hater?

Compost Cookies
From Momofuku Milk Bar on Oprah.com
makes 15-20 cookies

225 grams (16 tbsp or 2 sticks) butter, at room temperature
200 grams (1 cup) granulated sugar
150 grams (⅔ cup, tightly packed) light brown sugar
50 grams (2 tbsp) glucose
1 egg
2 grams (½ tsp.) vanilla extract
225 grams (1⅓ cups) flour
2 grams (½ tsp.) baking powder
1 1/2 grams (¼ tsp.) baking soda
4 grams (1 tsp.) kosher salt
150 grams (¾ cup) mini chocolate chips
100 grams (½ cup) mini butterscotch chips – I just used chocolate
1/4 recipe Graham Crust (85 grams, see separate recipe)
40 grams (⅓ cup) old-fashioned rolled oats
5 grams (2 ½ tsp.) ground coffee
50 grams (2 cups) potato chips
50 grams (1 cup) mini pretzels

  1. Combine the butter, sugars and glucose in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and cream together on medium-high for 2 to 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl, add the egg and vanilla, and beat for 7 to 8 minutes.
  2. Reduce the speed to low and add the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix just until the dough comes together, no longer than 1 minute. (Do not walk away from the machine during this step, or you will risk overmixing the dough.) Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula.
  3. Still on low speed, add the chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, graham crust, oats and coffee, and mix just until incorporated, about 30 seconds. Add the potato chips and pretzels, and paddle, still on low speed, until just incorporated. Be careful not to overmix or break too many of the pretzels or potato chips. (You deserve a pat on the back if one of your cookies bakes off with a whole pretzel standing up in the center.)
  4. Using a 2-ounce ice cream scoop (or a 1⁄3-cup measure), portion out the dough onto a parchment-lined sheet pan. Pat the tops of the cookie dough domes flat. Wrap the sheet pan tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour, or up to 1 week. Do not bake your cookies from room temperature—they will not bake properly.
  5. Heat the oven to 190C.
  6. Arrange the chilled dough a minimum of 4 inches apart on parchment-lined sheet pans. Bake for 18 minutes. The cookies will puff, crackle and spread. After 18 minutes, they should be very faintly browned on the edges yet still bright yellow in the center. Give them an extra minute or so if that’s not the case.
  7. Cool the cookies completely on the sheet pans before transferring to a plate or an airtight container for storage. At room temp, cookies will keep fresh for 5 days; in the freezer, they will keep for 1 month.

Maybe I did something wrong, but I am not feeling particularly motivated to try them again. I’d rather a traditional chocolate chip cookie any day.

