Tags

, , , , ,

Having this deep fryer has made me want to deep fry everything. Oven bake chips? Nup, straight in the deep fryer for them. I really don’t recommend getting one. I’m not that health-oriented but I’m sure this much frying can’t be good for you. 

Before I put it away I needed to investigate the final frontier – deep fried desserts.  Which led me straight to churros. I’ve loved churros ever since I first met them at the Queen Vic market, and then San Churro opened and provided a side of dipping chocolate. I was hooked. 

I started to research churro recipes thinking it would be reasonably difficult to make.  When I research recipes, I pull out every book I have, google recipes, images, ratings, comments, forums and watch a couple of videos just to be sure. And so I discovered the big debate around churros is eggs or no eggs. I decided to try no eggs to start.

Luckily for me, the first recipe I tried was perfect as it was. It makes for an impressive dinner party dessert or an indulgent tea time snack. Plus, it’s so easy that you’ll want to eat churros for dessert, breakfast and lunch.

Churros
recipe from Rick Bayless on Oprah
makes 12 5″ churros

1 cup water
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tbsp sugar
pinch of salt
1 cup flour

oil for deep frying

¼ cup sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
100g dark chocolate, melted with 100ml cream

  1. Mix sugar and cinnamon for the churro coating. In a separate bowl, melt chocolate and cream in the microwave to make a dipping sauce.
  2. In a small saucepan, combine water, oil, sugar and salt. Set on a high heat and bring to the boil, stirring occasionally.
  3. Remove from heat and add flour, all at once. Stir vigorously until the mixture forms a smooth ball that comes away from the sides of the pan.
  4. When you are ready to eat them, heat oil in a a deep fryer or heavy pan to about 190C. You can test if the oil is ready by putting a small piece of dough into the hot oil – if it immediately rises to the surface, it is ready.
  5. Place half the churro mixture into a piping bag with a 13mm star tip. Pipe 5 inch lengths into hot oil, turning midway so that they brown evenly.
  6. Remove when the churros are golden brown (not lightly browned or they will not be cooked on the inside) and drain on paper towels. Immediately coat in the sugar-cinnamon mixture. Repeat with remaining dough.
  7. Serve while warm with dipping chocolate on the side.

Tips for getting perfect churros:

  • Don’t overfill the piping bag, the dough is quite dense and can stretch and tear the bag
  • If the oil is too hot the churros will crack and burst, if it’s not hot enough the churros will be soggy and oily
  • If you don’t have a piping bag just use a ziploc, or you can pinch off little balls of dough to make little donuts
